Universities in the United States

Savannah College of Art and Design

Rankings, Programs/Courses, Tuition & Admissions

country rank  340
world rank  987

Publish your
uniRank University Ranking

Overview

Savannah College of Art and Design is a non-profit private higher education institution located in the urban setting of the small city of Savannah, Georgia, United States. This institution also has branch campuses in Atlanta, Hong Kong and Lacoste. Founded in 1978, Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) is a coeducational institution officially accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges. SCAD provides courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees, including bachelor's degrees and master's degrees in several areas of study. For an overview of the available degree levels and areas of study, see the uniRank table below or search the institution's website with the search engine below. This 48-year-old US higher education institution has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades. The acceptance rate is 80-89%. This places it among a least selective. International students are welcome to apply. SCAD also offers several academic and non-academic facilities and services, including a library, housing, sports facilities, financial aid and/or scholarships, study abroad and exchange programs, online courses and distance learning opportunities, and administrative services.

Snapshot

Control

Savannah College of Art and Design's Control Typeprivate

Entity

Savannah College of Art and Design's Entity Typenon-profit

Size

Savannah College of Art and Design' Size by Total Enrollmentlarge-sized

Selectivity

Savannah College of Art and Design's Selectivity by Acceptance Rateleast selective

Identity

Name
Name (English) n.a.
Name (Non Latin) n.a.
Acronym SCAD
Founded 1978
Motto Ars longa, vita brevis
Art is long, life is short
Colours Gold and black
Mascot Art the Bee

Do you work for this university?

CLAIM / UPDATE UNIVERSITY

Location

Address 342 Bull Street
Savannah
31402-3146 Georgia
United States
Savannah College of Art and Design's location map and satellite view Location Map
Satellite View
Street View
Savannah College of Art and Design Phone Number (912) 525 5000
Savannah College of Art and Design Fax Number (912) 525 5986
Other locations Atlanta, Hong Kong and Lacoste

Video Presentation

n.a.

Website

Search Engine

for programs, courses, degrees, tuition fees, admission policy and requirements, acceptance rate, accreditation, facilities, services, affiliations or any other information you want to find and learn about n.a.. Our search engine is powered by Google.
n.a.'s Recognition or Accreditation

Recognition and Accreditation

Institutional Recognition or Accreditation

Savannah College of Art and Design is legally chartered, licensed and/or institutionally accredited by: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Year of first Recognition or Accreditation

2005


Specialized or Programmatic Accreditations

uniRank publishes the following list of the most important Savannah College of Art and Design's programmatic accreditations; feel free to submit any relevant missing specialized accreditations.

  • Council for Interior Design Accreditation
  • Georgia Professional Standards Commission
  • National Architectural Accrediting Board


Tip: search for Savannah College of Art and Design's accreditations with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

There are different types of legal recognition and quality assessment of higher education institutions around the world, depending on the country and its legal and higher education system... read our article about university accreditation and recognition to learn more.

Fields of Study and Degree Levels

Savannah College of Art and Design Fields of Study and Degree Levels

The following Fields of Study/Degree Levels Matrix of Savannah College of Art and Design is divided into 6 main fields of study and 4 levels of degrees, from the lowest undergraduate degree to the highest postgraduate degree. This matrix aims to help quickly identify Savannah College of Art and Design's academic range and degree level offering.



Savannah College of Art and Design: Fields of Study/Degree Levels Matrix

Undergraduate Postgraduate
PreBach
degrees
Bachelor
degrees
Master
degrees
Doctoral
degrees
Yes Yes Yes
A&H Yes Yes
L&C
B&S Yes Yes
M&H
S&T Yes Yes
Eng Yes Yes

Related Guide Articles

What is the difference between comprehensive/generalist and specialized universities in terms of the range of fields of study they offer, degree levels available and academic and carreer paths pros and cons? Read our guide article about generalist and specialized universities to learn more.


Programs and Courses

Savannah College of Art and Design Academic Programs/Courses

Click here to explore a list of , or if they are not available yet, search for them with our powered by Google. We are constantly adding university courses and programs worldwide with the cooperation of university representatives.


Related Guides

You can also explore our Guide to University Programs and Courses to learn more about study outlines and typical duration, tuition ranges, career prospects and salary expectations for careers associated with more than 8,100 programs and courses.


Tuition Fees

Savannah College of Art and Design Tuition Fees Range Matrix

This Tuition Fees Range Matrix of Savannah College of Art and Design categorizes tuition fees by student type (local or international) and degree level (undergraduate or postgraduate). It aims to help students get an approximate idea of the estimated yearly tuition fees at Savannah College of Art and Design.



Savannah College of Art and Design: Tuition Fees Range Matrix

Undergraduate Postgraduate
Local
students
35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro) 35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro)
International
students
35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro) 35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro)

Tip: search for Savannah College of Art and Design's tuition fees with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

Yearly tuition fees refers to the amount of money that a student is charged by a University for one academic year of full-time study. Read our guide article about tuition fees and financial aid options to learn more.


Admissions

Savannah College of Art and Design Admission Info


Savannah College of Art and Design's Gender Admission Policy Gender Admission

Savannah College of Art and Design is a coeducational institution, admitting both men and women to its programs and degrees.


Savannah College of Art and Design's Admission Selection Admission Selection

Savannah College of Art and Design has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades.


Acceptance Rate Admission Rate

Savannah College of Art and Design's acceptance rate ranges from 80 to 89%, making it a least selective higher education institution.


Minority Serving Minority Serving

This institution does not have a special focus on promoting education or research among a specific minority or ethnic group.


Admission Requirements Admission Requirements

  • Secondary school GPA is required
  • Secondary school rank is recommended
  • Secondary school record is required
  • Completion of college-preparatory program is recommended
  • Recommendations are recommended
  • Formal demonstration of competencies is recommended
  • Admission test scores are required
  • TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) is required
  • Other Test (Wonderlic, WISC-III, etc.) is neither required nor recommended

Source: IPDES


Savannah College of Art and Design's International Students Admission International Students

Yes


Savannah College of Art and Design's Admission Office Admission Office

Box 3146
Savannah 31402
(912) 5255100
800 869 7223

Tip: search for Savannah College of Art and Design's admission policy with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

Applying for admission is the first step towards achieving students' academic and career goals and accessing the many opportunities and resources that a university has to offer. Read our Introduction to University Admissions article to learn more.

Size and Profile

Savannah College of Art and Design Size and Profile


Savannah College of Art and Design's Total Student Enrollment Student Enrollment

Savannah College of Art and Design has a student enrollment ranging from 15,000 to 19,999, making it a large-sized institution.


Savannah College of Art and Design's Total Faculty/Academic staff Academic Staff

Savannah College of Art and Design's academic staff ranges from 700 to 799 members.


Savannah College of Art and Design's Control Type Control Type

Savannah College of Art and Design is a private higher education institution, meaning it is funded and managed independently rather than by the government, and relies on tuition fees and private contributions for its operations.


Savannah College of Art and Design's Entity Type Entity Type

Savannah College of Art and Design is a non-profit higher education institution, relying on government subsidies and reinvesting all revenue into programs, research and student services rather than distributing profits to owners or shareholders.


Savannah College of Art and Design's Campus Setting Campus Setting

Savannah College of Art and Design's main campus is located in an urban setting, meaning it is situated within a city.


Savannah College of Art and Design's Academic Calendar Academic Calendar

Savannah College of Art and Design adopts a quarters academic calendar, a scheduling system where the academic year is divided into four distinct terms, or quarters, each typically lasting about 10 to 12 weeks, separated by three short breaks and one longer break.


Savannah College of Art and Design's Disabled Students Friendliness Disabled Students %

This institution has a high percentage of disabled students making it particularly disability-friendly.


Savannah College of Art and Design is None Religious Affiliation

None.



Related Guide Articles

University size and profile can be important factors to consider when choosing a university. Here are some potential reasons why University size and profile can affect students when choosing a university.

Facilities and Services

Savannah College of Art and Design Facilities


Savannah College of Art and Design's Library University Library

Yes Visit Savannah College of Art and Design's Library
Savannah College of Art and Design's library has 3 branches. The library collection is comprised of both physical (i.e. books, medium, etc.) and digital/electronic items. In 2021 the library reported 244,002 physical volumes, 462,528 physical media, 195,544 digital/electronic media and 55 licensed digital/electronic databases. The library is managed by a total number of 15 full-time employees, including 12 librarians. Savannah College of Art and Design's library has a total library expenditure greater than $100,000 per year. Source: IPDES.


Savannah College of Art and Design's Housing University Housing

Yes
In particular, Savannah College of Art and Design provides on-campus housing and the total dormitory capacity, whether on or off campus, was about 5,813 students in the 2021 academic year. Source: IPDES.


Savannah College of Art and Design's Sport Facilities/Activities Sport Facilities/Activities

Yes


Savannah College of Art and Design's Institutional Hospital Institutional Hospital

Not reported

Savannah College of Art and Design Services


Savannah College of Art and Design's Financial Aid Financial Aid

Yes


Savannah College of Art and Design's Study Abroad Study Abroad

Yes


Savannah College of Art and Design's Distance Learning Distance Learning

Yes
In particular, this institution offers some programs fully via distance education at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. Source: IPDES.


Savannah College of Art and Design's Academic Counseling Academic Counseling

Yes


Savannah College of Art and Design's Career Services Career Services

Yes


Related Guide Articles

What are the most common University facilities and services? Read our two guide articles about University Facilities and University Services to learn more.

Academic Structure

Savannah College of Art and Design Organisational Structure

The academic structure of Savannah College of Art and Design consists of the following primary first-level divisions; feel free to submit any relevant missing division.

Savannah College of Art and Design
  • School of Building Arts
  • School of Communication Arts
  • School of Design
  • School of Film and Digital Media
  • School of Fine Arts
  • School of Foundation Studies
  • School of Liberal Arts
  • School of Performing Arts

Related Guide Articles

Read our guide article "Understanding Academic Divisions in Universities - Colleges, Faculties, Schools" to learn more about academic divisions and typical university organizational structures.

Memberships and Affiliations

Savannah College of Art and Design Affiliations and Memberships

uniRank publishes the following list of the most important Savannah College of Art and Design's affiliations and memberships; feel free to submit any relevant missing higher education-related organizations this university is affiliated with.

  • National Athletic Association (NAA)
  • National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA)


Related Guide Articles

University memberships and affiliations to external organizations can be important for several reasons... read our article about university affiliations and memberships to learn more.

Social Media

Official Social Media Channels

Facebook Facebook

Savannah College of Art and Design's Facebook page review

X X (Twitter)

Savannah College of Art and Design's X page review

YouTube YouTube

Savannah College of Art and Design's Youtube page review

Instagram Instagram

Savannah College of Art and Design's Instagram page review

LinkedIn LinkedIn

Savannah College of Art and Design's official LinkedIn profile

TikTok TikTok

Savannah College of Art and Design's official TikTok channel


Related Guide Articles

Social media can be a powerful tool for Universities to communicate with current students, alumni, faculty, staff and the wider community. But how can social media be important for prospective students? Read our article about the importance of Social Media for universities and prospective students to learn more.

Do you work for this university?

CLAIM / UPDATE UNIVERSITY

Free Online Courses

Open Education Global Open Education Global

This higher education institution is not a member of the Open Education Global (OEGlobal) organization that is developing, implementing, and supporting free open education and free online courses. View a list of Open Education Global members by country.


Online Courses You Can Trust

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Savannah College of Art and Design public or private?

Savannah College of Art and Design is a private higher education institution, meaning it is funded and managed independently rather than by the government, and relies on tuition fees and private contributions for its operations.

Is Savannah College of Art and Design profit or non-profit?

Savannah College of Art and Design is a non-profit higher education institution, relying on government subsidies and reinvesting all revenue into programs, research and student services rather than distributing profits to owners or shareholders.

What is the size of Savannah College of Art and Design in terms of enrollment?

Savannah College of Art and Design has a student enrollment ranging from 15,000 to 19,999, making it a large-sized institution.

What is the size of Savannah College of Art and Design in terms of academic staff?

Savannah College of Art and Design's academic staff ranges from 700 to 799 members.

Is Savannah College of Art and Design a coeducational institution?

Savannah College of Art and Design is a coeducational institution, admitting both men and women to its programs and degrees.

What academic calendar does Savannah College of Art and Design use?

Savannah College of Art and Design adopts a quarters academic calendar, a scheduling system where the academic year is divided into four distinct terms, or quarters, each typically lasting about 10 to 12 weeks, separated by three short breaks and one longer break.

What religion is Savannah College of Art and Design affiliated with?

None.

Does Savannah College of Art and Design admit international students?

Yes.

What is Savannah College of Art and Design's acceptance rate and admission policy?

Savannah College of Art and Design's acceptance rate ranges from 80 to 89%, making it a least selective higher education institution. This university has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades.

How much does it cost to attend Savannah College of Art and Design SCAD?

Undergraduate tuition range for local students: 35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro). International students: 35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro). Tuition costs may vary by program.

Where is Savannah College of Art and Design SCAD located?

Savannah College of Art and Design is located in Savannah, Georgia, United States. Address: 342 Bull Street.

Is Savannah College of Art and Design SCAD accredited and legally recognised?

Yes, Savannah College of Art and Design is accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (since 2005).

Does Savannah College of Art and Design offer financial aid?

Yes

Does Savannah College of Art and Design offer study abroad programs?

Yes

Does Savannah College of Art and Design have a university library?

Yes Savannah College of Art and Design's library has 3 branches. The library collection is comprised of both physical (i.e. books, medium, etc.) and digital/electronic items. In 2021 the library reported 244,002 physical volumes, 462,528 physical media, 195,544 digital/electronic media and 55 licensed digital/electronic databases. The library is managed by a total number of 15 full-time employees, including 12 librarians. Savannah College of Art and Design's library has a total library expenditure greater than $100,000 per year. Source: IPDES.

Does Savannah College of Art and Design provide student housing and accommodation?

Yes In particular, Savannah College of Art and Design provides on-campus housing and the total dormitory capacity, whether on or off campus, was about 5,813 students in the 2021 academic year. Source: IPDES.

Does Savannah College of Art and Design have sports facilities or activities?

Yes

Does Savannah College of Art and Design offer academic counseling?

Yes

Does Savannah College of Art and Design offer career services?

Yes

Does Savannah College of Art and Design offer distance learning?

Yes In particular, this institution offers some programs fully via distance education at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. Source: IPDES.

Does Savannah College of Art and Design have an institutional hospital?

Not reported

Related Resources