Universities in the United States

Point University

Rankings, Programs/Courses, Tuition & Admissions

country rank  1610
world rank  7462

Publish your
uniRank University Ranking

Overview

Point University is a non-profit private multidisciplinary higher education institution located in the suburban setting of the large town of West Point, Georgia, United States. Founded in 1937, Point University (Point U) is a coeducational institution and is officially accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges. Point U provides courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees, such as pre-bachelor's degrees (i.e. certificates, diplomas, associate or foundation), bachelor's degrees and master's degrees across several fields of study. For an overview of the available degree levels and areas of study, see the uniRank table below or search the institution's website with the search engine below. This 89-year-old US higher education institution has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades. The acceptance rate is 40-49%. This places it among an averagely selective. International applicants are eligible to apply. Point U also offers several academic and non-academic facilities and services, including a library, housing, sports facilities, financial aid and/or scholarships, online courses and distance learning opportunities, and administrative services.

Snapshot

Control

Point University's Control Typeprivate

Entity

Point University's Entity Typenon-profit

Size

Point University' Size by Total Enrollmentvery small-sized

Selectivity

Point University's Selectivity by Acceptance Rateaveragely selective

Identity

Name
Name (English) n.a.
Name (Non Latin) n.a.
Acronym Point U
Founded 1937
Motto Preach the Word
Colours Blue and gold
Mascot Charger

Do you work for this university?

CLAIM / UPDATE UNIVERSITY

Location

Address 507 West 10th Street
West Point
31833 Georgia
United States
Point University's location map and satellite view Location Map
Satellite View
Street View
Point University Phone Number (706) 385 1000
Point University Fax Number (404) 460 2451
Other locations

Video Presentation

n.a.

Website

Search Engine

for programs, courses, degrees, tuition fees, admission policy and requirements, acceptance rate, accreditation, facilities, services, affiliations or any other information you want to find and learn about n.a.. Our search engine is powered by Google.
n.a.'s Recognition or Accreditation

Recognition and Accreditation

Institutional Recognition or Accreditation

Point University is legally chartered, licensed and/or institutionally accredited by: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Year of first Recognition or Accreditation

1990


Specialized or Programmatic Accreditations

uniRank publishes the following list of the most important Point University's programmatic accreditations; feel free to submit any relevant missing specialized accreditations.

  • Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)


Tip: search for Point University's accreditations with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

There are different types of legal recognition and quality assessment of higher education institutions around the world, depending on the country and its legal and higher education system... read our article about university accreditation and recognition to learn more.

Fields of Study and Degree Levels

Point University Fields of Study and Degree Levels

The following Fields of Study/Degree Levels Matrix of Point University is divided into 6 main fields of study and 4 levels of degrees, from the lowest undergraduate degree to the highest postgraduate degree. This matrix aims to help quickly identify Point University's academic range and degree level offering.



Point University: Fields of Study/Degree Levels Matrix

Undergraduate Postgraduate
PreBach
degrees
Bachelor
degrees
Master
degrees
Doctoral
degrees
Yes Yes Yes
A&H Yes Yes Yes
L&C
B&S Yes Yes Yes
M&H Yes Yes
S&T Yes Yes
Eng

Related Guide Articles

What is the difference between comprehensive/generalist and specialized universities in terms of the range of fields of study they offer, degree levels available and academic and carreer paths pros and cons? Read our guide article about generalist and specialized universities to learn more.


Programs and Courses

Point University Academic Programs/Courses

Click here to explore a list of , or if they are not available yet, search for them with our powered by Google. We are constantly adding university courses and programs worldwide with the cooperation of university representatives.


Related Guides

You can also explore our Guide to University Programs and Courses to learn more about study outlines and typical duration, tuition ranges, career prospects and salary expectations for careers associated with more than 8,100 programs and courses.


Tuition Fees

Point University Tuition Fees Range Matrix

This Tuition Fees Range Matrix of Point University categorizes tuition fees by student type (local or international) and degree level (undergraduate or postgraduate). It aims to help students get an approximate idea of the estimated yearly tuition fees at Point University.



Point University: Tuition Fees Range Matrix

Undergraduate Postgraduate
Local
students
20,000-24,999 US$ (18,225-22,780 Euro) 15,000-17,499 US$ (13,670-15,950 Euro)
International
students
20,000-24,999 US$ (18,225-22,780 Euro) 15,000-17,499 US$ (13,670-15,950 Euro)

Tip: search for Point University's tuition fees with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

Yearly tuition fees refers to the amount of money that a student is charged by a University for one academic year of full-time study. Read our guide article about tuition fees and financial aid options to learn more.


Admissions

Point University Admission Info


Point University's Gender Admission Policy Gender Admission

Point University is a coeducational institution, admitting both men and women to its programs and degrees.


Point University's Admission Selection Admission Selection

Point University has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades.


Acceptance Rate Admission Rate

Point University's acceptance rate ranges from 40 to 49%, making it an averagely selective higher education institution.


Minority Serving Minority Serving

This institution does not have a special focus on promoting education or research among a specific minority or ethnic group.


Admission Requirements Admission Requirements

  • Secondary school GPA is required
  • Secondary school rank is neither required nor recommended
  • Secondary school record is required
  • Completion of college-preparatory program is recommended
  • Recommendations are required
  • Formal demonstration of competencies is neither required nor recommended
  • Admission test scores are required
  • TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) is required
  • Other Test (Wonderlic, WISC-III, etc.) is neither required nor recommended

Source: IPDES


Point University's International Students Admission International Students

Yes


Point University's Admission Office Admission Office

2605 Ben Hill Road
East Point 30344
(404) 669 3202
800 776 1222

Tip: search for Point University's admission policy with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

Applying for admission is the first step towards achieving students' academic and career goals and accessing the many opportunities and resources that a university has to offer. Read our Introduction to University Admissions article to learn more.

Size and Profile

Point University Size and Profile


Point University's Total Student Enrollment Student Enrollment

Point University has a student enrollment ranging from 1,000 to 1,999, making it a very small-sized institution.


Point University's Total Faculty/Academic staff Academic Staff

Point University's academic staff ranges from 300 to 399 members.


Point University's Control Type Control Type

Point University is a private higher education institution, meaning it is funded and managed independently rather than by the government, and relies on tuition fees and private contributions for its operations.


Point University's Entity Type Entity Type

Point University is a non-profit higher education institution, relying on government subsidies and reinvesting all revenue into programs, research and student services rather than distributing profits to owners or shareholders.


Point University's Campus Setting Campus Setting

Point University's main campus is located in a suburban setting, meaning it is situated in a residential area near a city.


Point University's Academic Calendar Academic Calendar

Point University adopts a semesters academic calendar, a scheduling system where the academic year is divided into two main terms, or semesters, each typically lasting about 15 to 18 weeks, separated by a long break, usually a winter or summer vacation.


Point University's Disabled Students Friendliness Disabled Students %

Not reported


Point University is Christian-Restorationist Religious Affiliation

Christian-Restorationist. Christian Churches and Churches of Christ



Related Guide Articles

University size and profile can be important factors to consider when choosing a university. Here are some potential reasons why University size and profile can affect students when choosing a university.

Facilities and Services

Point University Facilities


Point University's Library University Library

Yes Visit Point University's Library
Point University's library does not have any external branch. The library collection is comprised of both physical (i.e. books, medium, etc.) and digital/electronic items. In 2021 the library reported 13,715 physical volumes, 12 physical media, 212,811 digital/electronic media and 76 licensed digital/electronic databases. The library is managed by a total number of 9 full-time employees, including 1 librarians. Point University's library has a total library expenditure greater than $100,000 per year. Source: IPDES.


Point University's Housing University Housing

Yes
In particular, Point University provides on-campus housing and the total dormitory capacity, whether on or off campus, was about 405 students in the 2021 academic year. Source: IPDES.


Point University's Sport Facilities/Activities Sport Facilities/Activities

Yes


Point University's Institutional Hospital Institutional Hospital

Not reported

Point University Services


Point University's Financial Aid Financial Aid

Yes


Point University's Study Abroad Study Abroad

Not reported


Point University's Distance Learning Distance Learning

Yes
In particular, this institution offers some programs fully via distance education at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. Source: IPDES.


Point University's Academic Counseling Academic Counseling

Yes


Point University's Career Services Career Services

Yes


Related Guide Articles

What are the most common University facilities and services? Read our two guide articles about University Facilities and University Services to learn more.

Academic Structure

Point University Organisational Structure

Not available; please use the Feedback/Error report form to submit a list of Point University's official first-level academic divisions.


Related Guide Articles

Read our guide article "Understanding Academic Divisions in Universities - Colleges, Faculties, Schools" to learn more about academic divisions and typical university organizational structures.

Memberships and Affiliations

Point University Affiliations and Memberships

uniRank publishes the following list of the most important Point University's affiliations and memberships; feel free to submit any relevant missing higher education-related organizations this university is affiliated with.

  • National Athletic Association (NAA)
  • National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA)


Related Guide Articles

University memberships and affiliations to external organizations can be important for several reasons... read our article about university affiliations and memberships to learn more.

Social Media

Official Social Media Channels

Facebook Facebook

Point University's Facebook page review

X X (Twitter)

Point University's X page review

YouTube YouTube

Point University's Youtube page review

Instagram Instagram

Point University's Instagram page review

LinkedIn LinkedIn

Point University's official LinkedIn profile

TikTok TikTok

n.a.


Related Guide Articles

Social media can be a powerful tool for Universities to communicate with current students, alumni, faculty, staff and the wider community. But how can social media be important for prospective students? Read our article about the importance of Social Media for universities and prospective students to learn more.

Do you work for this university?

CLAIM / UPDATE UNIVERSITY

Wikipedia

Free Online Courses

Open Education Global Open Education Global

This higher education institution is not a member of the Open Education Global (OEGlobal) organization that is developing, implementing, and supporting free open education and free online courses. View a list of Open Education Global members by country.


Online Courses You Can Trust

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Point University public or private?

Point University is a private higher education institution, meaning it is funded and managed independently rather than by the government, and relies on tuition fees and private contributions for its operations.

Is Point University profit or non-profit?

Point University is a non-profit higher education institution, relying on government subsidies and reinvesting all revenue into programs, research and student services rather than distributing profits to owners or shareholders.

What is the size of Point University in terms of enrollment?

Point University has a student enrollment ranging from 1,000 to 1,999, making it a very small-sized institution.

What is the size of Point University in terms of academic staff?

Point University's academic staff ranges from 300 to 399 members.

Is Point University a coeducational institution?

Point University is a coeducational institution, admitting both men and women to its programs and degrees.

What academic calendar does Point University use?

Point University adopts a semesters academic calendar, a scheduling system where the academic year is divided into two main terms, or semesters, each typically lasting about 15 to 18 weeks, separated by a long break, usually a winter or summer vacation.

What religion is Point University affiliated with?

Christian-Restorationist. Christian Churches and Churches of Christ

Does Point University admit international students?

Yes.

What is Point University's acceptance rate and admission policy?

Point University's acceptance rate ranges from 40 to 49%, making it an averagely selective higher education institution. This university has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades.

How much does it cost to attend Point University Point U?

Undergraduate tuition range for local students: 20,000-24,999 US$ (18,225-22,780 Euro). International students: 20,000-24,999 US$ (18,225-22,780 Euro). Tuition costs may vary by program.

Where is Point University Point U located?

Point University is located in West Point, Georgia, United States. Address: 507 West 10th Street.

Is Point University Point U accredited and legally recognised?

Yes, Point University is accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (since 1990).

Does Point University offer financial aid?

Yes

Does Point University offer study abroad programs?

Not reported

Does Point University have a university library?

Yes Point University's library does not have any external branch. The library collection is comprised of both physical (i.e. books, medium, etc.) and digital/electronic items. In 2021 the library reported 13,715 physical volumes, 12 physical media, 212,811 digital/electronic media and 76 licensed digital/electronic databases. The library is managed by a total number of 9 full-time employees, including 1 librarians. Point University's library has a total library expenditure greater than $100,000 per year. Source: IPDES.

Does Point University provide student housing and accommodation?

Yes In particular, Point University provides on-campus housing and the total dormitory capacity, whether on or off campus, was about 405 students in the 2021 academic year. Source: IPDES.

Does Point University have sports facilities or activities?

Yes

Does Point University offer academic counseling?

Yes

Does Point University offer career services?

Yes

Does Point University offer distance learning?

Yes In particular, this institution offers some programs fully via distance education at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. Source: IPDES.

Does Point University have an institutional hospital?

Not reported

Related Resources