Universities in the United States

Ottawa University

Rankings, Programs/Courses, Tuition & Admissions

country rank  974
world rank  3268

Publish your
uniRank University Ranking

Overview

Ottawa University is a non-profit private multidisciplinary higher education institution located in the rural setting of the large town of Ottawa, Kansas, United States. This institution also has branch campuses in Phoenix, Overland Park, Jeffersonville and Brookfield. Founded in 1865, Ottawa University (OU) is a coeducational institution officially accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. OU provides courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees, including bachelor's degrees and master's degrees in several areas of study. For an overview of the available degree levels and areas of study, see the uniRank table below or search the institution's website with the search engine below. This 161-year-old US higher education institution has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades. The acceptance rate is 60-69%. This places it among a moderately selective. OU also offers several academic and non-academic facilities and services, including a library, housing, sports facilities, financial aid and/or scholarships, study abroad and exchange programs, online courses and distance learning opportunities, and administrative services.

Snapshot

Control

Ottawa University's Control Typeprivate

Entity

Ottawa University's Entity Typenon-profit

Size

Ottawa University' Size by Total Enrollmentvery small-sized

Selectivity

Ottawa University's Selectivity by Acceptance Ratemoderately selective

Identity

Name
Name (English) n.a.
Name (Non Latin) n.a.
Acronym OU
Founded 1865
Motto Veritas Vos Liberabit
The Truth Shall Set You Free (John 8:32)
Colours Gold and black
Mascot

Do you work for this university?

CLAIM / UPDATE UNIVERSITY

Location

Address 1001 South Cedar
Ottawa
66067-3399 Kansas
United States
Ottawa University's location map and satellite view Location Map
Satellite View
Street View
Ottawa University Phone Number (785) 242 5200
Ottawa University Fax Number (785) 229 1008
Other locations Phoenix, Overland Park, Jeffersonville and Brookfield

Video Presentation

n.a.

Website

Search Engine

for programs, courses, degrees, tuition fees, admission policy and requirements, acceptance rate, accreditation, facilities, services, affiliations or any other information you want to find and learn about n.a.. Our search engine is powered by Google.
n.a.'s Recognition or Accreditation

Recognition and Accreditation

Institutional Recognition or Accreditation

Ottawa University is legally chartered, licensed and/or institutionally accredited by: Higher Learning Commission

Year of first Recognition or Accreditation


Specialized or Programmatic Accreditations

uniRank publishes the following list of the most important Ottawa University's programmatic accreditations; feel free to submit any relevant missing specialized accreditations.

  • Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs
  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education
  • Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation
  • National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education


Tip: search for Ottawa University's accreditations with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

There are different types of legal recognition and quality assessment of higher education institutions around the world, depending on the country and its legal and higher education system... read our article about university accreditation and recognition to learn more.

Fields of Study and Degree Levels

Ottawa University Fields of Study and Degree Levels

The following Fields of Study/Degree Levels Matrix of Ottawa University is divided into 6 main fields of study and 4 levels of degrees, from the lowest undergraduate degree to the highest postgraduate degree. This matrix aims to help quickly identify Ottawa University's academic range and degree level offering.



Ottawa University: Fields of Study/Degree Levels Matrix

Undergraduate Postgraduate
PreBach
degrees
Bachelor
degrees
Master
degrees
Doctoral
degrees
Yes Yes
A&H Yes Yes
L&C
B&S Yes Yes
M&H
S&T Yes Yes
Eng Yes

Related Guide Articles

What is the difference between comprehensive/generalist and specialized universities in terms of the range of fields of study they offer, degree levels available and academic and carreer paths pros and cons? Read our guide article about generalist and specialized universities to learn more.


Programs and Courses

Ottawa University Academic Programs/Courses

Click here to explore a list of , or if they are not available yet, search for them with our powered by Google. We are constantly adding university courses and programs worldwide with the cooperation of university representatives.


Related Guides

You can also explore our Guide to University Programs and Courses to learn more about study outlines and typical duration, tuition ranges, career prospects and salary expectations for careers associated with more than 8,100 programs and courses.


Tuition Fees

Ottawa University Tuition Fees Range Matrix

This Tuition Fees Range Matrix of Ottawa University categorizes tuition fees by student type (local or international) and degree level (undergraduate or postgraduate). It aims to help students get an approximate idea of the estimated yearly tuition fees at Ottawa University.



Ottawa University: Tuition Fees Range Matrix

Undergraduate Postgraduate
Local
students
35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro) 12,500-14,999 US$ (11,390-13,670 Euro)
International
students
35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro) 12,500-14,999 US$ (11,390-13,670 Euro)

Tip: search for Ottawa University's tuition fees with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

Yearly tuition fees refers to the amount of money that a student is charged by a University for one academic year of full-time study. Read our guide article about tuition fees and financial aid options to learn more.


Admissions

Ottawa University Admission Info


Ottawa University's Gender Admission Policy Gender Admission

Ottawa University is a coeducational institution, admitting both men and women to its programs and degrees.


Ottawa University's Admission Selection Admission Selection

Ottawa University has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades.


Acceptance Rate Admission Rate

Ottawa University's acceptance rate ranges from 60 to 69%, making it a moderately selective higher education institution.


Minority Serving Minority Serving

This institution does not have a special focus on promoting education or research among a specific minority or ethnic group.


Admission Requirements Admission Requirements

  • Secondary school GPA is required
  • Secondary school rank is recommended
  • Secondary school record is required
  • Completion of college-preparatory program is recommended
  • Recommendations are recommended
  • Formal demonstration of competencies is neither required nor recommended
  • Admission test scores are required
  • TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) is required
  • Other Test (Wonderlic, WISC-III, etc.) is neither required nor recommended

Source: IPDES


Ottawa University's International Students Admission International Students

Not reported


Ottawa University's Admission Office Admission Office

1001 South Cedar Street, #17
Ottawa 66067-3399
(785) 242 5200
800 775 5200

Tip: search for Ottawa University's admission policy with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

Applying for admission is the first step towards achieving students' academic and career goals and accessing the many opportunities and resources that a university has to offer. Read our Introduction to University Admissions article to learn more.

Size and Profile

Ottawa University Size and Profile


Ottawa University's Total Student Enrollment Student Enrollment

Ottawa University has a student enrollment ranging from 500 to 999, making it a very small-sized institution.


Ottawa University's Total Faculty/Academic staff Academic Staff

Ottawa University has an academic staff of fewer than 50 members.


Ottawa University's Control Type Control Type

Ottawa University is a private higher education institution, meaning it is funded and managed independently rather than by the government, and relies on tuition fees and private contributions for its operations.


Ottawa University's Entity Type Entity Type

Ottawa University is a non-profit higher education institution, relying on government subsidies and reinvesting all revenue into programs, research and student services rather than distributing profits to owners or shareholders.


Ottawa University's Campus Setting Campus Setting

Ottawa University's main campus is located in a rural setting, meaning it is situated in a countryside or less densely populated area, away from major cities.


Ottawa University's Academic Calendar Academic Calendar

Ottawa University adopts a semesters academic calendar, a scheduling system where the academic year is divided into two main terms, or semesters, each typically lasting about 15 to 18 weeks, separated by a long break, usually a winter or summer vacation.


Ottawa University's Disabled Students Friendliness Disabled Students %

Not reported


Ottawa University is Christian-Baptist Religious Affiliation

Christian-Baptist. Alabama Baptist Convention - www.alsbom.org



Related Guide Articles

University size and profile can be important factors to consider when choosing a university. Here are some potential reasons why University size and profile can affect students when choosing a university.

Facilities and Services

Ottawa University Facilities


Ottawa University's Library University Library

Yes Visit Ottawa University's Library
Ottawa University-Ottawa's library does not have any external branch. The library collection is comprised of both physical (i.e. books, medium, etc.) and digital/electronic items. In 2021 the library reported 57,120 physical volumes, 456 physical media and 137 licensed digital/electronic databases. The library is managed by a total number of 8 full-time employees, including 2 librarians. Ottawa University-Ottawa's library has a total library expenditure greater than $100,000 per year. Source: IPDES.


Ottawa University's Housing University Housing

Yes
In particular, Ottawa University provides on-campus housing and the total dormitory capacity, whether on or off campus, was about 559 students in the 2021 academic year. Source: IPDES.


Ottawa University's Sport Facilities/Activities Sport Facilities/Activities

Yes


Ottawa University's Institutional Hospital Institutional Hospital

Not reported

Ottawa University Services


Ottawa University's Financial Aid Financial Aid

Yes


Ottawa University's Study Abroad Study Abroad

Yes


Ottawa University's Distance Learning Distance Learning

Yes
In particular, this institution offers some courses via distance education at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. Source: IPDES.


Ottawa University's Academic Counseling Academic Counseling

Yes


Ottawa University's Career Services Career Services

Yes


Related Guide Articles

What are the most common University facilities and services? Read our two guide articles about University Facilities and University Services to learn more.

Academic Structure

Ottawa University Organisational Structure

Not available; please use the Feedback/Error report form to submit a list of Ottawa University's official first-level academic divisions.


Related Guide Articles

Read our guide article "Understanding Academic Divisions in Universities - Colleges, Faculties, Schools" to learn more about academic divisions and typical university organizational structures.

Memberships and Affiliations

Ottawa University Affiliations and Memberships

uniRank publishes the following list of the most important Ottawa University's affiliations and memberships; feel free to submit any relevant missing higher education-related organizations this university is affiliated with.

  • Council of Independent Colleges (CIC)
  • National Athletic Association (NAA)
  • National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA)


Related Guide Articles

University memberships and affiliations to external organizations can be important for several reasons... read our article about university affiliations and memberships to learn more.

Social Media

Official Social Media Channels

Facebook Facebook

Ottawa University's Facebook page review

X X (Twitter)

Ottawa University's X page review

YouTube YouTube

Ottawa University's Youtube page review

Instagram Instagram

Ottawa University's Instagram page review

LinkedIn LinkedIn

Ottawa University's official LinkedIn profile

TikTok TikTok

n.a.


Related Guide Articles

Social media can be a powerful tool for Universities to communicate with current students, alumni, faculty, staff and the wider community. But how can social media be important for prospective students? Read our article about the importance of Social Media for universities and prospective students to learn more.

Do you work for this university?

CLAIM / UPDATE UNIVERSITY

Wikipedia

Free Online Courses

Open Education Global Open Education Global

This higher education institution is not a member of the Open Education Global (OEGlobal) organization that is developing, implementing, and supporting free open education and free online courses. View a list of Open Education Global members by country.


Online Courses You Can Trust

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Ottawa University public or private?

Ottawa University is a private higher education institution, meaning it is funded and managed independently rather than by the government, and relies on tuition fees and private contributions for its operations.

Is Ottawa University profit or non-profit?

Ottawa University is a non-profit higher education institution, relying on government subsidies and reinvesting all revenue into programs, research and student services rather than distributing profits to owners or shareholders.

What is the size of Ottawa University in terms of enrollment?

Ottawa University has a student enrollment ranging from 500 to 999, making it a very small-sized institution.

What is the size of Ottawa University in terms of academic staff?

Ottawa University has an academic staff of fewer than 50 members.

Is Ottawa University a coeducational institution?

Ottawa University is a coeducational institution, admitting both men and women to its programs and degrees.

What academic calendar does Ottawa University use?

Ottawa University adopts a semesters academic calendar, a scheduling system where the academic year is divided into two main terms, or semesters, each typically lasting about 15 to 18 weeks, separated by a long break, usually a winter or summer vacation.

What religion is Ottawa University affiliated with?

Christian-Baptist. Alabama Baptist Convention - www.alsbom.org

Does Ottawa University admit international students?

Not reported.

What is Ottawa University's acceptance rate and admission policy?

Ottawa University's acceptance rate ranges from 60 to 69%, making it a moderately selective higher education institution. This university has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades.

How much does it cost to attend Ottawa University OU?

Undergraduate tuition range for local students: 35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro). International students: 35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro). Tuition costs may vary by program.

Where is Ottawa University OU located?

Ottawa University is located in Ottawa, Kansas, United States. Address: 1001 South Cedar.

Is Ottawa University OU accredited and legally recognised?

Yes, Ottawa University is accredited by Higher Learning Commission (since ).

Does Ottawa University offer financial aid?

Yes

Does Ottawa University offer study abroad programs?

Yes

Does Ottawa University have a university library?

Yes Ottawa University-Ottawa's library does not have any external branch. The library collection is comprised of both physical (i.e. books, medium, etc.) and digital/electronic items. In 2021 the library reported 57,120 physical volumes, 456 physical media and 137 licensed digital/electronic databases. The library is managed by a total number of 8 full-time employees, including 2 librarians. Ottawa University-Ottawa's library has a total library expenditure greater than $100,000 per year. Source: IPDES.

Does Ottawa University provide student housing and accommodation?

Yes In particular, Ottawa University provides on-campus housing and the total dormitory capacity, whether on or off campus, was about 559 students in the 2021 academic year. Source: IPDES.

Does Ottawa University have sports facilities or activities?

Yes

Does Ottawa University offer academic counseling?

Yes

Does Ottawa University offer career services?

Yes

Does Ottawa University offer distance learning?

Yes In particular, this institution offers some courses via distance education at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. Source: IPDES.

Does Ottawa University have an institutional hospital?

Not reported

Related Resources