Universities in the United States

Old Dominion University

Rankings, Programs/Courses, Tuition & Admissions

country rank  149
world rank  359

Publish your
uniRank University Ranking

Overview

Old Dominion University is a non-profit public higher education institution located in the urban setting of the small city of Norfolk, Virginia, United States. Founded in 1930, Old Dominion University (ODU) is a coeducational institution officially accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges. ODU provides courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees, including pre-bachelor's degrees (i.e. certificates, diplomas, associate or foundation), bachelor's degrees, master's degrees and doctorate degrees in several areas of study. For an overview of the available degree levels and areas of study, see the uniRank table below or search the institution's website with the search engine below. This 96-year-old US higher education institution has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades. The acceptance rate is 90-99%. This places it among a least selective. International students are welcome to apply. ODU also offers several academic and non-academic facilities and services, including a library, housing, sports facilities, financial aid and/or scholarships, study abroad and exchange programs, online courses and distance learning opportunities, and administrative services.

Snapshot

Control

Old Dominion University's Control Typepublic

Entity

Old Dominion University's Entity Typenon-profit

Size

Old Dominion University' Size by Total Enrollmentlarge-sized

Selectivity

Old Dominion University's Selectivity by Acceptance Rateleast selective

Identity

Name
Name (English) n.a.
Name (Non Latin) n.a.
Acronym ODU
Founded 1930
Motto Changing Lives
Colours Slate blue, silver and cerulean blue
Mascot Big Blue

Do you work for this university?

CLAIM / UPDATE UNIVERSITY

Location

Address 5115 Hampton Boulevard
Norfolk
23529 Virginia
United States
Old Dominion University's location map and satellite view Location Map
Satellite View
Street View
Old Dominion University Phone Number (757) 683 3000
Old Dominion University Fax Number
Other locations

Video Presentation

n.a.

Website

Search Engine

for programs, courses, degrees, tuition fees, admission policy and requirements, acceptance rate, accreditation, facilities, services, affiliations or any other information you want to find and learn about n.a.. Our search engine is powered by Google.
n.a.'s Recognition or Accreditation

Recognition and Accreditation

Institutional Recognition or Accreditation

Old Dominion University is legally chartered, licensed and/or institutionally accredited by: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Year of first Recognition or Accreditation

1961


Specialized or Programmatic Accreditations

uniRank publishes the following list of the most important Old Dominion University's programmatic accreditations; feel free to submit any relevant missing specialized accreditations.

  • American Association for Leisure and Recreation, Council on Accreditation
  • American Physical Therapy Association, Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education
  • Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business
  • Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education
  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education
  • American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation
  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs
  • Council for Standards in Human Service Education
  • American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, Council on Academic Accreditation
  • Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs
  • Council on Accreditation of Parks, Recreation, Tourism and Related Professions
  • Council on Education for Public Health
  • Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET
  • Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission of ABET
  • Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology
  • National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences
  • National Association of Schools of Art and Design, Commission on Accreditation
  • National Association of Schools of Music, Commission on Accreditation
  • National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education
  • Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration, Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation


Tip: search for Old Dominion University's accreditations with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

There are different types of legal recognition and quality assessment of higher education institutions around the world, depending on the country and its legal and higher education system... read our article about university accreditation and recognition to learn more.

Fields of Study and Degree Levels

Old Dominion University Fields of Study and Degree Levels

The following Fields of Study/Degree Levels Matrix of Old Dominion University is divided into 6 main fields of study and 4 levels of degrees, from the lowest undergraduate degree to the highest postgraduate degree. This matrix aims to help quickly identify Old Dominion University's academic range and degree level offering.



Old Dominion University: Fields of Study/Degree Levels Matrix

Undergraduate Postgraduate
PreBach
degrees
Bachelor
degrees
Master
degrees
Doctoral
degrees
Yes Yes Yes Yes
A&H Yes Yes Yes Yes
L&C Yes
B&S Yes Yes Yes Yes
M&H Yes Yes Yes Yes
S&T Yes Yes Yes
Eng Yes Yes Yes

Related Guide Articles

What is the difference between comprehensive/generalist and specialized universities in terms of the range of fields of study they offer, degree levels available and academic and carreer paths pros and cons? Read our guide article about generalist and specialized universities to learn more.


Programs and Courses

Old Dominion University Academic Programs/Courses

Click here to explore a list of , or if they are not available yet, search for them with our powered by Google. We are constantly adding university courses and programs worldwide with the cooperation of university representatives.


Related Guides

You can also explore our Guide to University Programs and Courses to learn more about study outlines and typical duration, tuition ranges, career prospects and salary expectations for careers associated with more than 8,100 programs and courses.


Tuition Fees

Old Dominion University Tuition Fees Range Matrix

This Tuition Fees Range Matrix of Old Dominion University categorizes tuition fees by student type (local or international) and degree level (undergraduate or postgraduate). It aims to help students get an approximate idea of the estimated yearly tuition fees at Old Dominion University.



Old Dominion University: Tuition Fees Range Matrix

Undergraduate Postgraduate
Local
students
10,000-12,499 US$ (9,110-11,390 Euro) 12,500-14,999 US$ (11,390-13,670 Euro)
International
students
30,000-34,999 US$ (27,340-31,890 Euro) 30,000-34,999 US$ (27,340-31,890 Euro)

Tip: search for Old Dominion University's tuition fees with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

Yearly tuition fees refers to the amount of money that a student is charged by a University for one academic year of full-time study. Read our guide article about tuition fees and financial aid options to learn more.


Admissions

Old Dominion University Admission Info


Old Dominion University's Gender Admission Policy Gender Admission

Old Dominion University is a coeducational institution, admitting both men and women to its programs and degrees.


Old Dominion University's Admission Selection Admission Selection

Old Dominion University has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades.


Acceptance Rate Admission Rate

Old Dominion University's acceptance rate ranges from 90 to 99%, making it a least selective higher education institution.


Minority Serving Minority Serving

This institution does not have a special focus on promoting education or research among a specific minority or ethnic group.


Admission Requirements Admission Requirements

  • Secondary school GPA is required
  • Secondary school rank is recommended
  • Secondary school record is required
  • Completion of college-preparatory program is recommended
  • Recommendations are recommended
  • Formal demonstration of competencies is neither required nor recommended
  • Admission test scores are required
  • TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) is required
  • Other Test (Wonderlic, WISC-III, etc.) is neither required nor recommended

Source: IPDES


Old Dominion University's International Students Admission International Students

Yes
Old Dominion University has more than 500 international students.


Old Dominion University's Admission Office Admission Office

108 Rollins Hall, 5115 Hampton Boulevard
Norfolk 23529
(757) 683 3685
800 348 7926

Tip: search for Old Dominion University's admission policy with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

Applying for admission is the first step towards achieving students' academic and career goals and accessing the many opportunities and resources that a university has to offer. Read our Introduction to University Admissions article to learn more.

Size and Profile

Old Dominion University Size and Profile


Old Dominion University's Total Student Enrollment Student Enrollment

Old Dominion University has a student enrollment ranging from 15,000 to 19,999, making it a large-sized institution.


Old Dominion University's Total Faculty/Academic staff Academic Staff

Old Dominion University's academic staff ranges from 1,000 to 1,499 members.


Old Dominion University's Control Type Control Type

Old Dominion University is a public higher education institution, meaning it is funded and managed by the government, providing affordable access to education for students.


Old Dominion University's Entity Type Entity Type

Old Dominion University is a non-profit higher education institution, relying on government subsidies and reinvesting all revenue into programs, research and student services rather than distributing profits to owners or shareholders.


Old Dominion University's Campus Setting Campus Setting

Old Dominion University's main campus is located in an urban setting, meaning it is situated within a city.


Old Dominion University's Academic Calendar Academic Calendar

Old Dominion University adopts a semesters academic calendar, a scheduling system where the academic year is divided into two main terms, or semesters, each typically lasting about 15 to 18 weeks, separated by a long break, usually a winter or summer vacation.


Old Dominion University's Disabled Students Friendliness Disabled Students %

Not reported


Old Dominion University is None Religious Affiliation

None.



Related Guide Articles

University size and profile can be important factors to consider when choosing a university. Here are some potential reasons why University size and profile can affect students when choosing a university.

Facilities and Services

Old Dominion University Facilities


Old Dominion University's Library University Library

Yes Visit Old Dominion University's Library
Old Dominion University's library has 2 branches. The library collection is comprised of both physical (i.e. books, medium, etc.) and digital/electronic items. In 2021 the library reported 1,070,944 physical volumes, 226,453 physical media, 275,295 digital/electronic media and 428 licensed digital/electronic databases. The library is managed by a total number of 82 full-time employees, including 20 librarians. Old Dominion University's library has a total library expenditure greater than $100,000 per year. Source: IPDES.


Old Dominion University's Housing University Housing

Yes
In particular, Old Dominion University provides on-campus housing and the total dormitory capacity, whether on or off campus, was about 4,361 students in the 2021 academic year. Source: IPDES.


Old Dominion University's Sport Facilities/Activities Sport Facilities/Activities

Yes


Old Dominion University's Institutional Hospital Institutional Hospital

Not reported

Old Dominion University Services


Old Dominion University's Financial Aid Financial Aid

Yes


Old Dominion University's Study Abroad Study Abroad

Yes


Old Dominion University's Distance Learning Distance Learning

Yes
In particular, this institution offers some programs fully via distance education at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. Source: IPDES.


Old Dominion University's Academic Counseling Academic Counseling

Yes


Old Dominion University's Career Services Career Services

Yes


Related Guide Articles

What are the most common University facilities and services? Read our two guide articles about University Facilities and University Services to learn more.

Academic Structure

Old Dominion University Organisational Structure

The academic structure of Old Dominion University consists of the following primary first-level divisions; feel free to submit any relevant missing division.

Old Dominion University
  • Arts and Letters
  • Batten College of Engineering and Technology
  • Business and Public Administration
  • Darden College of Education
  • Health Sciences
  • Honors College
  • Sciences
  • University College

Related Guide Articles

Read our guide article "Understanding Academic Divisions in Universities - Colleges, Faculties, Schools" to learn more about academic divisions and typical university organizational structures.

Memberships and Affiliations

Old Dominion University Affiliations and Memberships

uniRank publishes the following list of the most important Old Dominion University's affiliations and memberships; feel free to submit any relevant missing higher education-related organizations this university is affiliated with.

  • American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU)
  • National Athletic Association (NAA)
  • National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)


Related Guide Articles

University memberships and affiliations to external organizations can be important for several reasons... read our article about university affiliations and memberships to learn more.

Social Media

Official Social Media Channels

Facebook Facebook

Old Dominion University's Facebook page review

X X (Twitter)

Old Dominion University's X page review

YouTube YouTube

Old Dominion University's Youtube page review

Instagram Instagram

Old Dominion University's Instagram page review

LinkedIn LinkedIn

Old Dominion University's official LinkedIn profile

TikTok TikTok

n.a.


Related Guide Articles

Social media can be a powerful tool for Universities to communicate with current students, alumni, faculty, staff and the wider community. But how can social media be important for prospective students? Read our article about the importance of Social Media for universities and prospective students to learn more.

Do you work for this university?

CLAIM / UPDATE UNIVERSITY

Wikipedia

Free Online Courses

Open Education Global Open Education Global

This higher education institution is not a member of the Open Education Global (OEGlobal) organization that is developing, implementing, and supporting free open education and free online courses. View a list of Open Education Global members by country.


Online Courses You Can Trust

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Old Dominion University public or private?

Old Dominion University is a public higher education institution, meaning it is funded and managed by the government, providing affordable access to education for students.

Is Old Dominion University profit or non-profit?

Old Dominion University is a non-profit higher education institution, relying on government subsidies and reinvesting all revenue into programs, research and student services rather than distributing profits to owners or shareholders.

What is the size of Old Dominion University in terms of enrollment?

Old Dominion University has a student enrollment ranging from 15,000 to 19,999, making it a large-sized institution.

What is the size of Old Dominion University in terms of academic staff?

Old Dominion University's academic staff ranges from 1,000 to 1,499 members.

Is Old Dominion University a coeducational institution?

Old Dominion University is a coeducational institution, admitting both men and women to its programs and degrees.

What academic calendar does Old Dominion University use?

Old Dominion University adopts a semesters academic calendar, a scheduling system where the academic year is divided into two main terms, or semesters, each typically lasting about 15 to 18 weeks, separated by a long break, usually a winter or summer vacation.

What religion is Old Dominion University affiliated with?

None.

Does Old Dominion University admit international students?

Yes. Old Dominion University has more than 500 international students.

What is Old Dominion University's acceptance rate and admission policy?

Old Dominion University's acceptance rate ranges from 90 to 99%, making it a least selective higher education institution. This university has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades.

How much does it cost to attend Old Dominion University ODU?

Undergraduate tuition range for local students: 10,000-12,499 US$ (9,110-11,390 Euro). International students: 30,000-34,999 US$ (27,340-31,890 Euro). Tuition costs may vary by program.

Where is Old Dominion University ODU located?

Old Dominion University is located in Norfolk, Virginia, United States. Address: 5115 Hampton Boulevard.

Is Old Dominion University ODU accredited and legally recognised?

Yes, Old Dominion University is accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (since 1961).

Does Old Dominion University offer financial aid?

Yes

Does Old Dominion University offer study abroad programs?

Yes

Does Old Dominion University have a university library?

Yes Old Dominion University's library has 2 branches. The library collection is comprised of both physical (i.e. books, medium, etc.) and digital/electronic items. In 2021 the library reported 1,070,944 physical volumes, 226,453 physical media, 275,295 digital/electronic media and 428 licensed digital/electronic databases. The library is managed by a total number of 82 full-time employees, including 20 librarians. Old Dominion University's library has a total library expenditure greater than $100,000 per year. Source: IPDES.

Does Old Dominion University provide student housing and accommodation?

Yes In particular, Old Dominion University provides on-campus housing and the total dormitory capacity, whether on or off campus, was about 4,361 students in the 2021 academic year. Source: IPDES.

Does Old Dominion University have sports facilities or activities?

Yes

Does Old Dominion University offer academic counseling?

Yes

Does Old Dominion University offer career services?

Yes

Does Old Dominion University offer distance learning?

Yes In particular, this institution offers some programs fully via distance education at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. Source: IPDES.

Does Old Dominion University have an institutional hospital?

Not reported

Related Resources