Universities in the United States

Clarke University

Rankings, Programs/Courses, Tuition & Admissions

country rank  1132
world rank  3900

Publish your
uniRank University Ranking

Overview

Clarke University is a non-profit private higher education institution located in the urban setting of the small city of Dubuque, Iowa, United States. Founded in 1843, Clarke University (CU) is a coeducational institution and is officially accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. CU provides courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees, such as pre-bachelor's degrees (i.e. certificates, diplomas, associate or foundation), bachelor's degrees, master's degrees and doctorate degrees across several fields of study. For an overview of the available degree levels and areas of study, see the uniRank table below or search the institution's website with the search engine below. This 183-year-old US higher education institution has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades. The institution reports an acceptance rate of 80-89%. It is considered a least selective. CU also provides students with several academic and non-academic facilities and services, including a library, housing, sports facilities, financial aid and/or scholarships, study abroad and exchange programs, online courses and distance learning opportunities, and administrative services.

Snapshot

Control

Clarke University's Control Typeprivate

Entity

Clarke University's Entity Typenon-profit

Size

Clarke University' Size by Total Enrollmentvery small-sized

Selectivity

Clarke University's Selectivity by Acceptance Rateleast selective

Identity

Name
Name (English) n.a.
Name (Non Latin) n.a.
Acronym CU
Founded 1843
Motto
Colours Navy blue and gold
Mascot

Do you work for this university?

CLAIM / UPDATE UNIVERSITY

Location

Address 1550 Clarke Drive
Dubuque
52001-3198 Iowa
United States
Clarke University's location map and satellite view Location Map
Satellite View
Street View
Clarke University Phone Number (563) 588 6300
Clarke University Fax Number (563) 588 6789
Other locations

Video Presentation

n.a.

Website

Search Engine

for programs, courses, degrees, tuition fees, admission policy and requirements, acceptance rate, accreditation, facilities, services, affiliations or any other information you want to find and learn about n.a.. Our search engine is powered by Google.
n.a.'s Recognition or Accreditation

Recognition and Accreditation

Institutional Recognition or Accreditation

Clarke University is legally chartered, licensed and/or institutionally accredited by: Higher Learning Commission

Year of first Recognition or Accreditation


Specialized or Programmatic Accreditations

uniRank publishes the following list of the most important Clarke University's programmatic accreditations; feel free to submit any relevant missing specialized accreditations.

  • American Physical Therapy Association, Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education
  • Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education
  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education
  • Council on Social Work Education, Board of Accreditation
  • National Association of Schools of Music, Commission on Accreditation


Tip: search for Clarke University's accreditations with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

There are different types of legal recognition and quality assessment of higher education institutions around the world, depending on the country and its legal and higher education system... read our article about university accreditation and recognition to learn more.

Fields of Study and Degree Levels

Clarke University Fields of Study and Degree Levels

The following Fields of Study/Degree Levels Matrix of Clarke University is divided into 6 main fields of study and 4 levels of degrees, from the lowest undergraduate degree to the highest postgraduate degree. This matrix aims to help quickly identify Clarke University's academic range and degree level offering.



Clarke University: Fields of Study/Degree Levels Matrix

Undergraduate Postgraduate
PreBach
degrees
Bachelor
degrees
Master
degrees
Doctoral
degrees
Yes Yes Yes Yes
A&H Yes Yes Yes
L&C Yes
B&S Yes Yes
M&H Yes Yes
S&T Yes
Eng

Related Guide Articles

What is the difference between comprehensive/generalist and specialized universities in terms of the range of fields of study they offer, degree levels available and academic and carreer paths pros and cons? Read our guide article about generalist and specialized universities to learn more.


Programs and Courses

Clarke University Academic Programs/Courses

Click here to explore a list of , or if they are not available yet, search for them with our powered by Google. We are constantly adding university courses and programs worldwide with the cooperation of university representatives.


Related Guides

You can also explore our Guide to University Programs and Courses to learn more about study outlines and typical duration, tuition ranges, career prospects and salary expectations for careers associated with more than 8,100 programs and courses.


Tuition Fees

Clarke University Tuition Fees Range Matrix

This Tuition Fees Range Matrix of Clarke University categorizes tuition fees by student type (local or international) and degree level (undergraduate or postgraduate). It aims to help students get an approximate idea of the estimated yearly tuition fees at Clarke University.



Clarke University: Tuition Fees Range Matrix

Undergraduate Postgraduate
Local
students
35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro) 12,500-14,999 US$ (11,390-13,670 Euro)
International
students
35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro) 12,500-14,999 US$ (11,390-13,670 Euro)

Tip: search for Clarke University's tuition fees with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

Yearly tuition fees refers to the amount of money that a student is charged by a University for one academic year of full-time study. Read our guide article about tuition fees and financial aid options to learn more.


Admissions

Clarke University Admission Info


Clarke University's Gender Admission Policy Gender Admission

Clarke University is a coeducational institution, admitting both men and women to its programs and degrees.


Clarke University's Admission Selection Admission Selection

Clarke University has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades.


Acceptance Rate Admission Rate

Clarke University's acceptance rate ranges from 80 to 89%, making it a least selective higher education institution.


Minority Serving Minority Serving

This institution does not have a special focus on promoting education or research among a specific minority or ethnic group.


Admission Requirements Admission Requirements

  • Secondary school GPA is required
  • Secondary school rank is recommended
  • Secondary school record is required
  • Completion of college-preparatory program is recommended
  • Recommendations are neither required nor recommended
  • Formal demonstration of competencies is neither required nor recommended
  • Admission test scores are required
  • TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) is recommended
  • Other Test (Wonderlic, WISC-III, etc.) is neither required nor recommended

Source: IPDES


Clarke University's International Students Admission International Students

Not reported


Clarke University's Admission Office Admission Office

1550 Clarke Drive
Dubuque 52001-3198
(563) 588 6316
800 383 2345

Tip: search for Clarke University's admission policy with the uniRank Search Engine


Related Guide Articles

Applying for admission is the first step towards achieving students' academic and career goals and accessing the many opportunities and resources that a university has to offer. Read our Introduction to University Admissions article to learn more.

Size and Profile

Clarke University Size and Profile


Clarke University's Total Student Enrollment Student Enrollment

Clarke University has a student enrollment ranging from 500 to 999, making it a very small-sized institution.


Clarke University's Total Faculty/Academic staff Academic Staff

Clarke University's academic staff ranges from 100 to 199 members.


Clarke University's Control Type Control Type

Clarke University is a private higher education institution, meaning it is funded and managed independently rather than by the government, and relies on tuition fees and private contributions for its operations.


Clarke University's Entity Type Entity Type

Clarke University is a non-profit higher education institution, relying on government subsidies and reinvesting all revenue into programs, research and student services rather than distributing profits to owners or shareholders.


Clarke University's Campus Setting Campus Setting

Clarke University's main campus is located in an urban setting, meaning it is situated within a city.


Clarke University's Academic Calendar Academic Calendar

Clarke University adopts a semesters academic calendar, a scheduling system where the academic year is divided into two main terms, or semesters, each typically lasting about 15 to 18 weeks, separated by a long break, usually a winter or summer vacation.


Clarke University's Disabled Students Friendliness Disabled Students %

This institution has a high percentage of disabled students making it particularly disability-friendly.


Clarke University is Christian-Catholic Religious Affiliation

Christian-Catholic. Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary - www.bvmcong.org



Related Guide Articles

University size and profile can be important factors to consider when choosing a university. Here are some potential reasons why University size and profile can affect students when choosing a university.

Facilities and Services

Clarke University Facilities


Clarke University's Library University Library

Yes Visit Clarke University's Library
Clarke University's library does not have any external branch. The library collection is comprised of both physical (i.e. books, medium, etc.) and digital/electronic items. In 2021 the library reported 85,902 physical volumes, 1,438 physical media, 2,063 digital/electronic media and 71 licensed digital/electronic databases. The library is managed by a total number of 6 full-time employees, including 3 librarians. Clarke University's library has a total library expenditure greater than $100,000 per year. Source: IPDES.


Clarke University's Housing University Housing

Yes
In particular, Clarke University provides on-campus housing and the total dormitory capacity, whether on or off campus, was about 536 students in the 2021 academic year. Source: IPDES.


Clarke University's Sport Facilities/Activities Sport Facilities/Activities

Yes


Clarke University's Institutional Hospital Institutional Hospital

Not reported

Clarke University Services


Clarke University's Financial Aid Financial Aid

Yes


Clarke University's Study Abroad Study Abroad

Yes


Clarke University's Distance Learning Distance Learning

Yes
In particular, this institution offers some programs fully via distance education at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. Source: IPDES.


Clarke University's Academic Counseling Academic Counseling

Yes


Clarke University's Career Services Career Services

Yes


Related Guide Articles

What are the most common University facilities and services? Read our two guide articles about University Facilities and University Services to learn more.

Academic Structure

Clarke University Organisational Structure

Not available; please use the Feedback/Error report form to submit a list of Clarke University's official first-level academic divisions.


Related Guide Articles

Read our guide article "Understanding Academic Divisions in Universities - Colleges, Faculties, Schools" to learn more about academic divisions and typical university organizational structures.

Memberships and Affiliations

Clarke University Affiliations and Memberships

uniRank publishes the following list of the most important Clarke University's affiliations and memberships; feel free to submit any relevant missing higher education-related organizations this university is affiliated with.

  • Council of Independent Colleges (CIC)
  • Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities (ACCU)
  • National Athletic Association (NAA)
  • National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA)


Related Guide Articles

University memberships and affiliations to external organizations can be important for several reasons... read our article about university affiliations and memberships to learn more.

Social Media

Official Social Media Channels

Facebook Facebook

Clarke University's Facebook page review

X X (Twitter)

Clarke University's X page review

YouTube YouTube

Clarke University's Youtube page review

Instagram Instagram

Clarke University's Instagram page review

LinkedIn LinkedIn

Clarke University's official LinkedIn profile

TikTok TikTok

n.a.


Related Guide Articles

Social media can be a powerful tool for Universities to communicate with current students, alumni, faculty, staff and the wider community. But how can social media be important for prospective students? Read our article about the importance of Social Media for universities and prospective students to learn more.

Do you work for this university?

CLAIM / UPDATE UNIVERSITY

Wikipedia

Free Online Courses

Open Education Global Open Education Global

This higher education institution is not a member of the Open Education Global (OEGlobal) organization that is developing, implementing, and supporting free open education and free online courses. View a list of Open Education Global members by country.


Online Courses You Can Trust

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Clarke University public or private?

Clarke University is a private higher education institution, meaning it is funded and managed independently rather than by the government, and relies on tuition fees and private contributions for its operations.

Is Clarke University profit or non-profit?

Clarke University is a non-profit higher education institution, relying on government subsidies and reinvesting all revenue into programs, research and student services rather than distributing profits to owners or shareholders.

What is the size of Clarke University in terms of enrollment?

Clarke University has a student enrollment ranging from 500 to 999, making it a very small-sized institution.

What is the size of Clarke University in terms of academic staff?

Clarke University's academic staff ranges from 100 to 199 members.

Is Clarke University a coeducational institution?

Clarke University is a coeducational institution, admitting both men and women to its programs and degrees.

What academic calendar does Clarke University use?

Clarke University adopts a semesters academic calendar, a scheduling system where the academic year is divided into two main terms, or semesters, each typically lasting about 15 to 18 weeks, separated by a long break, usually a winter or summer vacation.

What religion is Clarke University affiliated with?

Christian-Catholic. Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary - www.bvmcong.org

Does Clarke University admit international students?

Not reported.

What is Clarke University's acceptance rate and admission policy?

Clarke University's acceptance rate ranges from 80 to 89%, making it a least selective higher education institution. This university has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students' past academic records and grades.

How much does it cost to attend Clarke University CU?

Undergraduate tuition range for local students: 35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro). International students: 35,000-39,999 US$ (31,890-36,450 Euro). Tuition costs may vary by program.

Where is Clarke University CU located?

Clarke University is located in Dubuque, Iowa, United States. Address: 1550 Clarke Drive.

Is Clarke University CU accredited and legally recognised?

Yes, Clarke University is accredited by Higher Learning Commission (since ).

Does Clarke University offer financial aid?

Yes

Does Clarke University offer study abroad programs?

Yes

Does Clarke University have a university library?

Yes Clarke University's library does not have any external branch. The library collection is comprised of both physical (i.e. books, medium, etc.) and digital/electronic items. In 2021 the library reported 85,902 physical volumes, 1,438 physical media, 2,063 digital/electronic media and 71 licensed digital/electronic databases. The library is managed by a total number of 6 full-time employees, including 3 librarians. Clarke University's library has a total library expenditure greater than $100,000 per year. Source: IPDES.

Does Clarke University provide student housing and accommodation?

Yes In particular, Clarke University provides on-campus housing and the total dormitory capacity, whether on or off campus, was about 536 students in the 2021 academic year. Source: IPDES.

Does Clarke University have sports facilities or activities?

Yes

Does Clarke University offer academic counseling?

Yes

Does Clarke University offer career services?

Yes

Does Clarke University offer distance learning?

Yes In particular, this institution offers some programs fully via distance education at the undergraduate level and at the graduate level. Source: IPDES.

Does Clarke University have an institutional hospital?

Not reported

Related Resources